Mighty Quinn Grabs Biggest Win

Mighty Quinn Grabs Biggest Win

Brendan Quinn grabbed the biggest win of his career with victory in the Mainline DynoLog Dynamometers 15k AllStar Challenge at Heytesbury Stockfeeds Simpson Speedway on Saturday night.

Starting from position three for the 35-lap feature the Adelaide driver drove a steady and patient race and avoided trouble to get home first from Albury’s Grant Anderson and the hard charging Jordyn Charge.

Quinn ran top five throughout and watched as other drivers encountered their share of bad luck in an enthralling race.

Polesitter James McFadden won the shootout but was headed by Daniel Pestka early until lap three when Simpson’s John Vogels rode the front straight wall in his comeback race and was an early withdrawal.

Drama struck the 12th running of the Challenge two laps later when Steven Lines rolled with 30 laps left. At the restart McFadden’s car bounced very hard entering turn three after hooking a rut in the track and while he avoided hitting the pit gate his race was over with a bent radius rod.

As a dejected McFadden watched from the infield Pestka built up a big lead until he suffered driveline problems on lap 28 as did Rusty Hickman with James Aranyosi and Chris Solomon also not finishing.

Quinn one of 42, cars earlier recorded a win and third in qualifying and was the third fastest time trailer behind McFadden with a 12.171 lap and found himself leading. He relished the clean air and was ever headed during the final laps going on to take the dual chequered flags in a race that stopped five of the first six starters and just eight of the 20 car field finished on the lead lap.

Brendan Quinn in action

V8 Supercars driver Cameron Waters had his best night racing a sprintcar coming from third in the B-Main to start 17th in the final and finish a solid fourth in the A-Main.

Final placings: Brendan Quinn, Grant Anderson, Jordyn Charge, Cameron Waters, Matthew Reed, Steven Caruso, Brenten Farrer, Phil Lock, Charles Hunter, Dave Donegan, Paul Solomon, Jordan Abbott, Ryan Davis, Daniel Pestka, Rusty Hickman, James Aranyosi, James McFadden, Steven Lines, John Vogels, Chris Solomon.

THE annual Snoopy Super Rod Slam was again a hotly contested race and Stan Marco Jnr came from pole position courtesy of two third placings in his heat races to lead all 20 laps and win comfortably from Victorian champion Neville Gange and Jamie May.

Stan Marco Jnr

The next race meeting at Heytesbury Stockfeeds Simpson Speedway will be on January 29, 2022, with the Southwest Stampede for VSC Sports Sedans, JSPA Junior Sedans and Compact Speedcars.

Share this post

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.