Record Field Set for Victorian Sprintcar Title Chase

Record Field Set for Victorian Sprintcar Title Chase

IT WILL be a record-breaking field of Sprintcars at Heytesbury Stockfeeds Simpson Speedway this Saturday night.

The popular club welcomes 44 drivers and their teams to the busy venue for the 2022 Mainline DynaLog Dynamometers 360 cubic inch powered Sprintcars Victorian Championship.

It is the fourth time Simpson Speedway has held this prestigious event and the field eclipses its own entry list by 17 more cars from 12 months ago.

This weekend will see seven past title winners of this event all vying for outright victory once again.

Reigning champion Brenten Farrer of Bendigo who dominated the 2021 A-Main feature again leads the title chase. He drove superbly from the front row last year to lead from start-to-finish with perfect race conditions that enabled drivers to pass on either the top or bottom of the track.

Reigning champion Brenten Farrer

Farrer has not been out of the placings in this championship since 2017 and placed way back in 2013 behind winner Matthew Reed who is also in this year’s field.

Other past winners lining up for Saturday night’s action and the coveted Vic 1 number are Michael Tancredi (2018, 2016), Jordyn Charge (2017), Chris Solomon (2012), Phil Lock of Simpson who won at his home track in 2010.

Geelong’s Domain Ramsay raced to victory in 2015 and was a recent winner of the opening round of the C&H Trucking Limited Sprintcar Series at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway will also be a title favourite.

Ramsay can add more valuable points to his tally in the C&H series with round two taking place this weekend.

The current national 360ci sprintcar champion Brett Milburn is also in the stout field along with fellow regular 410ci racers Dennis Jones, Eddie Lumbar, Tim Van Ginneken and Simpson fan favourite John Vogels.

Local John Vogels

Another driver to watch will be runaway last start Wingless Sprints winner at Simpson Speedway Christopher Temby, who is progressing well in the winged racing ranks.

Also on the big program of racing is the Junior Formula 500s proudly sponsored by The Tyre Factory of Warrnambool and the Formula 500’s.

Junior Formula 500 driver Tyler Maggs


Gates open at 4pm and cars on track from 5:30pm.

Admission prices:
Adult $30
Concession $26
Child 12-16 $10
Child under 11-free

General Admission Tickets can be purchased at the track or online.

Please Note: As per Victorian State Government Requirements, Compulsory QR Coding will be required upon entry as will proof of Full COVID-19 Vaccination Status.

Share this post

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.