Simpson Closes Season in Style

Simpson Closes Season in Style

MATTHEW REED took a trip down memory lane and added another victory to his racing resume with victory in the seventh and final round of the C&H Trucking Sprintcars grand finale at Heytesbury Stockfeeds Simpson Speedway last Sunday evening.

The Allansford signwriter in the Ken Hutchins owned car won the feature race leading home fellow resident Jett Bell also of Allansford in second and Ballarat’s Sam Wren third, which was enough for Wren to be crowned overall series champion.

Simpson podium. L-R is Jett Bell, Matthew Reed, Sam Wren

Reed who has had numerous victories at Simpson started the 25 lap A-Main from position two after setting the fastest time in time trials with a 12.570 second lap and grabbed a win and a third placing in his two heats.

Bell, in just his third drive in a sprintcar for Mat and Renae Eastham of Pakenham started alongside Reed in the final and shadowed Reed with a win and third, but Reed won the all-important Gold Shootout from Bell, Andy Hibbert and Michael Tancredi to determine the top four starting positions for the final.

Reed who has won multiple Sprintcar Racing Association titles got the jump on his teenage counterpart and was never headed in the seventh round in front of a strong crowd for the club’s final race meeting.

Bell, who had a nasty crash the previous night at Avalon Raceway fell back to third early and had a good battle with Tancredi until lap 16 when Bell drove under him to assume second as Wren followed.

Matthew Reed on the outside of Jett Bell in the final

After the race Reed thanked Bell for “keeping him honest” in the final sprintcar race of the 2021-22 Sprintcar Racing Association season.

“I knew he was there. I was a bit vulnerable as he’s had some good pace. I’m getting old now and it’s been a big year, whereas Jett’s in just his third race, it’s a big achievement for him. We’ve worked hard and I’m happy to finish off the season like this,” Reed said.

Final point standings – Sam Wren Sam Wren 1947, Andy Hibbert 1765, Matthew Reed 1763, Michael Tancredi 1730, Ben Micallef 1213.

The Salute to the ANZAC’s Speedcar feature looked to be all Travis Mills for the taking until Nick Parker got going late in the race and eventually chased down Mills and passed him on the final lap to win.

Parker was first while Mills led home his son Caleb and Mitch Whiting with Portland’s Luke Storer making a change from Wingless Sprints to Speedcars and finished fifth at the conclusion of 20 laps.

In the popular Super Rods division, it was Victorian champion Neville Gange who had a heated battle in the 20-lap final for the ANZAC Cup and defeated Stan Marco Jnr and Shaun Walsh.

Neville Gange emerged the winner in the Super Rods

Simpson Speedway would like to thank all fans, competitors, teams, officials and everyone who has helped the club during this past season and look forward to seeing you for the 48th season of racing.

Share this post

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.