McFadden Aiming for Consecutive Wins at Simpson Speedway

McFadden Aiming for Consecutive Wins at Simpson Speedway

JAMES McFadden and the Monte Motorsport team will be looking to defend their title in Australia’s richest 360ci sprintcar race this Saturday night in the annual Mainline DynoLog Dynamometers All Star Challenge at Heytesbury Stockfeeds Simpson Speedway.

It is the 12th running of the hugely popular event that pays a whopping $15,000 to the winner and McFadden will again be the driver to beat. He faces tough competition from former Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic winner Steven Lines of Mount Gambier while Simpson’s own John Vogels is likely to make his racing season debut.

John Vogels in action at Simpson


McFadden last year led home current All Star Series leader Charles Hunter and Bendigo’s Rusty Hickman in a great race in front of a huge crowd and all drivers are on this year’s entry list of around 40 cars competing for $40,000 in prizemoney.

James McFadden last year at Simpson


Sprintcar favourite Grant Anderson is in contention for line honours as is reigning Australian 360 sprintcar champion Brett Milburn.

All Star series regulars Brad Warren, Jordyn Charge and Paul Solomon will also figure prominently this weekend as they continue their overall points chase.

V8 Supercars regular and Tickford Racing’s lead driver Cameron Waters is again locked in for the event that was the brainchild of Allstar series boss Mandy Searle and Mainline’s Andrew Elder.

This event started back in January 2011 with a 5K payout for first place and has featured some of the world’s best drivers including a stunning list of Americans.

World of Outlaws and Knoxville Champions that have made their way to Simpson Speedway over the years have included David Gravel, Shane Stewart, Tim Kaeding, Terry McCarl, Kyle Hirst, Tim Shaffer, Greg Hodnett, Danny Smith, Gio Scelzi, Cory Eliason, Kalib Henry, Geoff Ensign, Caleb Griffith and enjoyed the racey track.

Promoter Mandy Searle remembers fondly the challenges of this meeting and how the event has grown since its inception.

“At our first Challenge we had almost a waterfall off the edge of the track with all the rain during the day but, to the credit of the Simpson team they managed to give us a racetrack to run on,” Searle said.

“Then we started attracting the Americans, that was very cool, and we were pretty excited that we had got to this level. Kyle Hirst was the first American to win the show.

“Last year we had Covid restrictions as well as rain in the afternoon. So yes, the Challenge has certainly lived up to that but, one thing is for sure the racing is always next level excitement and I’m hanging out for this season’s show.”

The night will also feature the second running of the Snoopy Slam for Super Rods with a strong field of cars entered.

Gates open 4pm.

Cars on track from 5pm.

To avoid disappointment, get online tickets at

Adults $30

Concession $26

Child 12-16 years $10

Child Under 11 is free.

Photos courtesy of Geoff Rounds

Share this post

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.