Rae Too Good In State Title

Rae Too Good In State Title

Jordan Rae’s season continues in fine fashion after winning the 2023 Sprintcar Racing Association’s Pro Sprints Victorian Championship at Heytesbury Stockfeeds Simpson Speedway last night. 

Rae is the 2023 Pro Sprint Victorian Champion Photo Aidan Freeman Photography

The blue ribbon event sponsored by Mainline DynoLog Dynamometers saw Rae start from pole position and he would lead all 25 laps to win from Chris Solomon and Rusty Hickman. 

Rae of Bannockburn, was equal top points with Matthew Symons on 139, then followed Hickman on 138 and Charles Hunter and Steven Loader both on 135 and Lachlan McHugh 130 after qualifying 

L-R- Muscular Dystophy Awareness Warrnambool Ash Gillin, 2nd Chris Solomon, 1st Jordan Rae, 3rd Rusty Hickman- Photo Aidan Freeman Photography

Rae shot clear to lead easily as the race commenced while McHugh had quickly worked into contention and was behind Hickman after five laps.

McHugh got by Hickman briefly as the pair traded positions but, McHugh’s car caught a rough piece of the track. He hit it so hard that the battery was torn from his car and he was forced out of the race. 

From here Rae would cruise to his second win in three weeks and third successive podium. 

Dennis Jones finished fourth then Brett Milburn, who won the B-Main and flew through the field for fifth. The veteran had a tough night where he broke a universal joint and missed recording a time. 

Earlier in qualifying Charles Hunter was the quickest in time trials and the opening group with an 11.827 second lap while Chris Solomon (12.141 in Group 2) and Steven Loader (12.141 in Group 3). 

Tim Rankin- Photo- Aidan Freeman Photography

The senior Formula 500 feature was won in convincing fashion by Tim Rankin of Simpson from Warrnambool’s Jack Bell and Jordan Rae who was swapping between his sprintcar.

Rankin finished heat one in sixth and won his second heat but it was Bell who led early most of the race from Liam Russell, Rae and Rankin. 

Russell’s race ended on lap six when he succumbed to a flat tyre and at the restart Rankin got by Rae and Bell two laps later and cleared out. 

He worked hard on the top of the track in the 25 lap final and won by half a lap adding to his recent fourth placing in the national title in Perth.

Koby O’Shannassy-Photo Aidan Freeman Photography

 In the Junior Formula 500s sponsored by The Tyre Factory it was Warrnambool’s Koby O’Shannassy with a win and a second won the 15-lap feature from Rusty Ponting and Chevette Muir. 

The annual “Green Night” supporting the Gillin Boys Foundation for muscular dystrophy awareness Warrnambool was very successful in raising funds and awareness on the night.

The enthusiastic crowd turned up creating a sea of green with glow sticks and headbands waving during the finals thanks to Colac Carpet Court.

The raffle sold on the night with over $2300 worth of prizes, including 2×2 seater sprintcar rides on the night with Grant Stansfield, was a major success raising $843.

The final amount raised of the Green Night total will be released soon.

The next meeting at Heytesbury Stockfeeds Simpson Speedway will be headlined by the WestVic Sheds & Garages Victorian title for Formula 500s on March 25. 

Share this post

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.