Simpson Speedway Roars Back in Record Style

Simpson Speedway Roars Back in Record Style

A record-breaking night awaits fans at Heytesbury Stockfeeds Simpson Speedway with the biggest ever car count for the club nominated for racing action.

Close to 40 410 cubic inch-powered cars will compete for line honours in the fifth round of the Victorian Sprintcars Racing Association series proudly supported by South West Conveyancing.

The venue which has seen a new safety fence installed is excited to also welcome back the Formula 500s and Junior Formula 500s which has in excess of 60 seniors entered and 22 juniors in what looms as a record car count for the Simpson Speedway.

Last year’s winner of this particular meeting in front of a massive crowd of 1910 fans and 2018 Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic winner Corey McCullagh of Warrnambool looks likely to challenge for victory.

“I’m pretty excited to get back to race at Simpson to be honest. The Simpson club do a great job always with the track, it’s a real two lanes to pass on, that’s good for us guys with tyre wear and for fans,” McCullagh said.

Also pressing McCullagh for a win will be Laang’s Ashley Cook, who has already grabbed a series round win at Wangaratta earlier this month.

Ashley Cook in action


Multiple SRA champions Brett Milburn and Matthew Reed are entered as are Terry Rankin, Will Carroll, while Tasmanians Tate Frost and Dion Appleby are making the trek across Bass Strait.

The opening round of the Preston Rowe Patterson Speedweek for Formula 500s will battle for the $30,000 prize money.

All eyes will be on reigning national champion Dylan Beveridge of Tasmania and visiting American brothers Alex & Nikko Panella of California who will jump in the Mansell Motorsport PMP/Jettco powered cars throughout the series.

Lara’s own Jordy Rae will come in as hot favourite having won both Victorian-based series Speedweek and Stampede last season, while Queensland’s Kayden Iverson will make the long trek down after his recent Queensland title.

Cody Turacchio will be the lone soldier from WA as he crosses the Nullarbor thanks to the Turacchio & Broadwood family racing team.

The local competition within Victoria includes, James McDonald, Dylan Willsher, Jett Speed, Declan Robinson and Justin Bowen who all finished in the top 10 standings of last year’s Preston Rowe Paterson Speedweek.

Jordan Mansell on the outside of Justin Bowen.

Returning to F500 ranks after a short or ongoing stint in the sprintcar category is Jack Bell and Daniel Burleigh while a host of young talent in the field is Indy Rae, Jac Laneyrie and  Chad Bell.

Experienced campaigners Tim Rankin of Simpson, Warrnambool’s Leigh Van Ginneken and Brock Rae will look to use every inch of knowledge they can to prove themselves up against a batch of drivers fresh from junior competition including Max Bevan, Jett Hart, Riley Simpson and young Tyler Maggs.

The battle for the win in round one of the Gibbtrans Junior Speedweek Series also boasts a record list of teams already nominated set to showcase the future stars of speedway racing.

Some include Zoe Pearce, Evie Bell, Daisy Smith, Koby O’Shannassy, Rusty Ponting and last weekend’s feature winner at Premier Speedway Kobi Wright.

Zoe Pearce in action


 Gates open at 4pm and cars on track from 5pm.

Admission prices: Adult $30 Concession $26 Child 12-16 $10 Child under 11-free.

Save yourself time by purchasing tickets online at

General Admission Tickets can be purchased at the track or online.

Photos taken by Shane Sharrock & Geoff Rounds

Share this post

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart

No products in the cart.